Embroideries

Author: Marjane Satrapi
Finished: December 17th, 2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

 I jumped on the Marjane Satrapi bandwagon after reading her popular graphic novel, Persepolis. I absolutely loved Persepolis and assumed I’d love anything else that Satrapi wrote.

Over Christmas break, I decided to rent another graphic novel by Satrapi – Embroideries. I hate to admit it but I wasn’t that impressed.

All in all, the novel was a quick read (maybe 45 minutes – I love this about graphic novels.) The story is centered upon a group of  Iranian woman discussing (well, more like gossiping) their sexual interactions with men.

While the book gave a realistic, firsthand perspective, I just didn’t care for the story. I didn’t like the way all the women were treating their husbands (and men in general).

I’ll continue reading work by Satrapi but wouldn’t recommend this one to fellow fans of the Persepolis author.

Leave a Reply

