How I Live Now

Author: Meg Rosoff
Finished: July 7th, 2011
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Yet another book I happened to stumble upon. This one I actually found over the weekend while moving my boyfriend into his new house. I was unloading a box of books and happened to notice this one in particular (I think this was due to the fact that the cover was pink and had butterflies – definitely set apart from the majority of his books). Anyways, the cover intrigued me so I asked him for a brief synopsis. He said that the story had a sort of “Hunger Games-ish” feel to it and that it was a quick read. Sounds good to me.

Now, a handful of days later and I’m finished. Thoughts? I liked it. Doesn’t touch The Hunger Games – but I get the idea that they are similar. A young girl in love with someone she shouldn’t be – oh yeah, did I mention that this special someone was her cousin? I’ll let you read the story to figure out how that all pans out but all in all – I enjoyed this story. Daisy’s voice was laughable and portrayed a highly accuarte depiction of a teenage girl.
It’s also worth mentioning that the story won a Printz award – looks as though I’m not alone in my positive review.
Leave a Reply

