The White Tiger

Author: Aravind Adiga
Finished:June 17th, 2011
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 
I wish I could say that I just happened to stumble upon The White Tiger but unfortunately, I was asked to read it for an Summer literature class at Ohio State. I decided to get a bit of a head start and begin the novel early and boy – am I glad I did. This story was so great! I enjoyed every page and couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen with the “White Tiger” aka Balram (the stories’ main protagonist). Balram is a murderer typing his tale to a Chinese official. His voice is comical and easy to follow. I love how witty he is throughout the story.
I must say, I’m a bit biased when it comes to the Indian culture – I am so intrigued by it! My dream would be to help out at an Indian orphanage. Adiga painted such a wonderful picture of what India is really like to those who live there – it’s not how many would imagine. I’m so glad that I read this novel – it will definitely be one I recommend for years to come.
Leave a Reply

