A Newfound Love in Shakespeare

Prior to taking “Introduction to Shakespeare” at The Ohio State University – I had hesitations. I honestly put this class off for as long as possible in fear that I would fail miserably. Why say things like: “My services to your lordship” when you mean “Pleased to meet you” or “But goes thy heart with this?” when you clearly mean “Do you mean what you’re saying”? That’s Shakespeare for ya. And up until recently, I didn’t get it. I didn’t get why an individual would be held in such high regard for writing works that seemed to be so similar. That was up until recently…

After eight weeks of studying and interpreting six of Shakespeare’s plays- I get it. I see what all the fuss is about.
 
Shakespeare had a wonderful way of articulating just exactly he wanted to say. His plays are intriguing, poetic, and hysterical – yes, who know Shakespeare could be so funny? I certainly didn’t. He’s clever. Within each of his plays there are so many issues to discuss.
One thought on “A Newfound Love in Shakespeare

  1. >I, too, found a new love for Shakespeare last summer! I'm so glad you liked it. I read A Midsummer Night's Dream and LOVED it!!! :) Maybe we cold get brave and pick a Shakespeare book for book club. ps… love the new blog background!

Leave a Reply

