The Giver

Author: Lois Lowry
Finished: January 24st, 2011
My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I’m honestly unsure as to why I didn’t like this book. I guess it was a combination of things, really. I found it troubling that this story was directed towards children – with themes that are far beyond their comprehension. Typically, I’m all for challenging students; however, I feel that this book isn’t necessary in creating a challenge. 

I really wanted to like this book (as it is continually praised and won a Newbery medal) but I just couldn’t see what all the hype was about…

Leave a Reply

