>Little Bee: A Novel

>

Author: Chris Cleave
My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

After listening to nothing but praise about this Chris Cleave novel – I was excited to jump in. Unfortunately, I can’t concur with my fellow Little Bee readers; I found this book to be disappointing.

After a well written first few chapters, the story took a turn for the worse. We are introduced to Little Bee, an original character, mysterious – I really enjoyed her dialogue. Little Bee tells the tale of her life as a girl in Africa. As she describes the setting around her and why she is the way she is, I was excited to read on…
this is when the disappointment set in.

The story became somewhat cliche from here on out. It became a tale of suicide, death, adultery – I was really surprised. Don’t get me wrong, the story had the makings of a great novel; however, it fell short. Instead of sympathizing with Little Bee, I began to find her quite obnoxious. Page after page, I was hoping for the story to really engage me; though, it never did.

Leave a Reply

