Gone Girl.

I was involved in a book club at my old church; however, they meet on Sunday nights (which makes it difficult for me to attend; we typically have family dinner with my parents and sister on Sunday nights.) While I really enjoy and miss the women in that club, I also love being active and involved in book club.

That said, I decided to ask the women from my home church if they wanted to start a book club. A low-key, no pressure time to get together and discuss a similar passion (for those of us who enjoy reading) or (for those who don’t) a girls night away from the hubby and/or kids. :)

So far, we have read two books together. The first was The Hospital By the River by Catherine Hamlin - a wonderful story of hope and love that was brought to Ethiopia by Dr. Hamlin and her husband. While the book was a bit difficult to read (for various reasons), there is a documentary film on Netflix that was EXCELLENT and worthwhile! After our book discussion we decided to watch and discuss the film. Inspirational is the one word I would use to describe Hamlin’s story. Check it out if you have any interest in Ethiopia or women’s health.

gone girlThe second book we read was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

I honestly can’t think of much to critique.

The book was well written and difficult to put down. It began one way, took a turn (a crazy turn) and ended even more bizarre than when it originally started.

It was creepy, dark, suspenseful – a psychological mind-bender.

My relationship of love and hate for the main characters was constantly flipping back and forth; you didn’t know who or what to trust.

I HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone interested in thrillers; however, I think even those that don’t enjoy thrillers would enjoy this book too.

It’s. That. Good.

Two of my favorite quotes:

“Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit.”

“There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.”

Author: Gillian Flynn
Finished: November 17th, 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have you read Gone Girl? What are some of your favorite thrillers?

One thought on “Gone Girl.

Leave a Reply

