Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Author: Mindy Kaling
Finished: September 21st, 2012
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When I first picked up Kaling’s book I didn’t know much about her (other than that she stars on The Office.) I’ve read a couple of comical memoirs/novels over the past couple of months and really enjoyed them so I figured I’d enjoy this as well.

And I did.

Kaling is fresh, charming and funny (without pushing inappropriate boundaries.) Why is it that comedians feel that they need to include the ‘f’ word or intense sexual innuendo in order to be funny? Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I hate these comedians and don’t find them funny; rather, I don’t think you have to do/say those things in order to be funny.

Kaling managed to write an entire memoir without pushing the boundaries; it was a pleasant surprise. Her various observations (contained in essay after essay) are spot on and hysterical.

One of my favorites:

Kaling describes her best friend rights and responsibilities:
1. I can borrow all of your clothes
2. We sleep in the same bed
3. I must be 100% honest about how you look, but gentle
4. I can ditch you, within reason
5. I will take care of your kid if you die
6. I will nurse you back to health
7. We will trade of being social activities chair for our outings
8. I will keep your favorite feminine hygiene product in my house
9. Same with your contact lens solution
10. I will try to like your boyfriend five times
11. When i take a shower at your place, I won’t drop the towel on the floor
12. If you’re depressed, I will be there for you
13. If our phone conversation gets disconnected, there’s no need to call back
14. I will hate and re-like people for you
15. It is okay to take me for granted
16. No two people are better than us–we fucking rock. no one can beat us.

I will admit that this book lost steam somewhere towards the end but ultimately, I figured this book was going to be a hit or miss and I’m happy to report a hit!

Do you enjoy reading memoirs? 

Who is your favorite comedian?

5 thoughts on “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. Diane, I loved this book, too! Kaling is brilliant, and it was fun being let into her little world. But I also thought it lost steam towards the end, and I don’t know why. I think I liked “Bossy Pants” a bit more, but that’s also because Tina Fey is older and has more life stories to share. Have you read Ellen DeGeneres “Seriously, I’m Kidding”? It’s a bit random, but funny as hell. I love Ellen!

Leave a Reply

