The Descendants.

Author: Kaui Hart Hemmings
Finished: June 21st, 2012
My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed The Descendants.

Kaui Hart Hemmings is a brillant author who evokes a range of emotions throughout her heartbreaking story. I was captivated within the first few pages. The characters are well developed; it’s like listening to a good friend. The main character, Matt King, proves to be a good-hearted man; his character seemed very real to me (simply through reading the thoughts he had about his wife, being a parent, dealing with his extended family.)

I loved watching the relationship between he and his daughters grow. There was a complexity to his eldest daughter that Hemmings wrote so beautifully.

I’m not sure if the recent film will live up to Hemmings’ story but I’m definitely interested in finding out.

Also, random but true fact, this book painted a stunning picture of Hawaii and now all I can think about is how much I want to go :)

Have you seen the George Clooney adaptation?

5 thoughts on “The Descendants.

  1. Pingback: Looking Forward to Fall Reads. « life of di.

  2. Oh I loved this, too! My mom actually recommended it to me :)

    And I saw the movie after and enjoyed it as well. Not as good as the book, but they rarely are, you know? x

Leave a Reply

