From the Page to the Screen.

“Whenever you feel like criticizing any one…just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.” – Nick Carraway, The Great Gatsby

Can I just say that I am so excited to see The Great Gatsby? One of my favorite novels has, once again, been turned into a new film starring the perfect Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan (and Tobey McGuire as Nick Carraway.)

I don’t believe I ever wrote my review of The Great Gatsby but it is, without a doubt, one of my all-time favorite books. Fitzgerald’s writing is exquisite and the takeaway is something that will forever stick with you.

For many, it’s considered the best American novel and after being on top of reading lists ever since it was published in 1922; it’s easy to see why.

One of my favorite lines: Carraway’s first description of Gatsby, “He had one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life. It faced, or seemed to face, the whole external world for an instant and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor. It understood you just as far as you wanted to be understood, believed in you as you would like to believe in yourself.”

Perfect.

I can’t wait to see this movie.

There are a few other upcoming books to film I’m excited for…

Life of Pi

I haven’t read this book yet but it’s one of my husband’s favorites. I’ll have to read before we go see it!

Perks of Being a Wallflower

While I wasn’t head-over-heels for this book, it had a few redeeming qualities. I’m hoping the movie is better – which is probably due to the fact that it stars Emma Watson :)

Anna Karenina

I think I’ve loved everything that Keira Knightley has ever starred in!

And yes…I am also excited for this…

Hey! We’re all allowed some guilty pleasures :)

Are there any that I’ve missed? What books-to-film are you looking forward to? 

9 thoughts on “From the Page to the Screen.

  1. That’s easy. I am looking forward to ‘Les Miserables’ with Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman. Nice write-up, by the way, I share your enthusiasm for ‘The Great Gatsby’ adaptation, I am just not too keen on ‘Anna Karenina’ – being practically brought up on the novel (my birthplace is Russia) I can see that the film is going to be a disaster (solely for me, of course!)

  2. I can’t wait to see The Great Gatsby! I didn’t even know it was made into a new film. I saw the original one, and it is also one of my favorite novels. I actually had an apartment near one of the mental institutions that Fitzgerald wife stayed at.

    • Gatsby looks fantastic – I think I’ll have to go back and watch the original movies to see how they compare :) By the way, that’s really cool about the apartment. I love the history of certain areas and buildings!

  3. I am so unbelievably excited for The Great Gatsby movie! The trailer is quite perfect, from the Kanye song to the bits and pieces they show of the glitzy New York parties…I am in love with this novel and this time era. I just hope they do it justice! Also, I had no idea they were making “Life of Pi” into a movie. It is in my top five of favorite all-time novels. It’s so insanely beautiful. I have absolutely no idea how they will turn it into a movie, but I am going to go watch the trailer right now!

    • I completely agree with you Jorie- they nailed the trailer. The time period really is amazing and I think they captured it beautifully. :) I plan to reread “Life of Pi” before I see the film; I hope the filmmakers do the book justice.

Leave a Reply

