Book Club Meeting: December 11th (’11)

Yesterday was a wonderful, lazy Sunday consisting of reading all afternoon and then book club in the evening. I was so excited to get back to book club after having missed the last 3-4 months due to the busy wedding planning (now that the wedding has passed and fall quarter is over, I can get back to what I LOVE doing – reading for pleasure). The book of the month was chosen by my friend Erin. She chose to read Veronica Roth’s Divergent. Oh my gosh – what a GREAT choice. I actually haven’t finished yet (about 100 pages left – hey, it has been a busy couple of months) but from what I’ve read, I really love it.

Erin did a beyond fabulous job hosting for Divergent. She had everything so creatively planned out: faction book marks, syringes of Divergent ‘serum’ aka jello, even ‘tattoos’ that we each applied to begin the night. In fact, it’s really cool, Erin was able to email the author and Veronica Roth actually sent  fake tattoos for each faction in the story (if you don’t know what I’m referring to, you need to read the book to find out :)). I was part of the ‘Amity’ faction.

I had such an enjoyable evening with the wonderful women that showed up. We enjoyed burgers from the grill, a Divergent quiz (prizes included), and a great discussion of the story.

I’m so in love with the idea of book clubs and am glad that we were able to get such a fun, diverse group of ladies together to celebrate our shared joy of reading.

January’s book of the month: Yes, My Darling Daughter by Margaret Leroy.

One thought on “Book Club Meeting: December 11th (’11)

Leave a Reply

