it’s been awhile…

Wow – I can’t believe how long it has been since I’ve posted on here. I definitely have been behind on my reading but I didn’t realize how behind. I really enjoy going to school and am honestly going to miss many aspects of college once I graduate in the Spring; however, the thing that is the WORST is not being able to read for pleasure. To put it lightly – it sucks.

By the time the end of the day rolls around and I open up a book I no longer find myself sleeping on its pages. Ugh. I’m not sure if anyone follows my ‘currently reading’ shelf on goodreads.com but The Time Traveler’s Wife has been up there since the end of September for the mere fact that every time I try to read, I fall asleep.

On the bright side, classes are out in TWO weeks. YES! I’m hoping to finish The Time Traveler’s Wife (by the way – a really great book so far), as well as reading  a few others on my ‘to read’ list.

So…

I feel that I need to set a goal of what I want to read over break…Three weeks of uninterrupted evenings, no homework, sporadic obligations.

My goal is to read four books, no wait, five – is that aiming too high? Let’s settle at four and if I happen to read five, I’ll be delighted.

Some books I’d like to read:
1) Divergent by Veronica Roth: This is our book club’s December ‘Book of the Month’. A few of my friends that have already read it are raving about it. Check out a review here.
2) Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri: I’ve already read a couple of these short stories, “Sexy” and “Mrs. Sens” and really  enjoyed them. Marty owns the book and I want to dive into the rest. Great author by the way.
3) Financial Peace by Dave Ramsey: I’ve read parts of this book (I took his finance class last Fall) but want to reread and, hopefully, implement some of his techniques into my family budget.
4) Twilight by Stephanie Meyer: I read this book a few years ago but with all the hype, would like to reread. I remember really enjoying this series but after reading Breaking Dawn - my opinion shifted… I’m willing to give it a second chance…
5) Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone by JK Rowling: Again, another reread but I am obsessed with HP.
6) Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins: Second book in the Hunger Game series.
7) Room by Emma Donoghue: I’ve heard some really great things about this book. I’m interested to read.
8) Roman Fever and Other Stories by Edith Wharton: I love Edith Wharton. Her storytelling is magical and so well throughout. I’ve read Roman Fever and After Holbein – really looking forward to reading more…

One thought on “it’s been awhile…

  1. I’ve missed you and your blog posts! I can’t wait to catch up at book club. :) That’s a great list, by the way. I can’t wait to hear about the books you get to read.

Leave a Reply

