Top Ten (Well, Seven) Tuesday: Fictional Crushes

Diane’s “Top Ten (Well, Seven) Fictional Crushes”

In no particular order (as always). Note: I couldn’t think of ten crushes, therefore there are only seven.

1) Michael from Redeeming Love (Francine Rivers):
Reading this book was easy (and it’s a huge book – so easy wouldn’t be the first word that comes to mind). It was easy because of the character, Michael. Redeeming Love is a retelling of the Biblical story of Hosea. Michael is a strong, intentional man, driven by God. God asks him to pursue the prostitute Sarah and (although Sarah wouldn’t typically be someone Michael would pursue) he does that very thing. She is stubborn and cruel; yet his love for her grows. Michael is determined to pull Sarah from her life of prostitution and, in fact, does that very thing. Who wouldn’t fall for a man taking direct orders from God? :)

2) Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen):
Who wouldn’t fall for Mr. Darcy? He’s handsome and wealthy – yet stubborn and forthright. There is a charm there that is untouchable.

3) Henry from The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger):
I’m still trying to finish up this book but the main reason I love it is because of Henry. Henry is a time traveler that randomly appears at different times in (both) the future and past. My stomach cringes for his love interest, Clare Abshire, as he only stays with her for a short period of time before disappearing to another time altogether. Make sense? No worries if it doesn’t – you’ll just have to read the book. :) Anyways, Henry is described as a ruggedly handsome man with dark features and his love for Clare never ceases. He stands up for her when she is assaulted as a teenager and comforts her when she learns of her mother’s death before it happens (again, read the book if this doesn’t make sense - it’s awesome). Henry is an easy character to fall for.

4) Harry from Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix (JK Rowling):
I LOVE Harry Potter. No, really, I LOVE Harry Potter. I’ve had an addiction to the books, the movies, the characters – everything since seventh grade. I never really considered myself to have a crush on Harry, but the more I think about it, I think I just may (specifically in the Order of the Phoenix). It is in this particular book of the series that Harry really steps up and takes control of the Voldemort situation. He leads ‘Dumbledore’s Army’ and instructs the students on defensive spells. Gotta love a man (oops- boy) that takes the lead.

5) Ethan from Something Blue (Emily Giffins):
I’m not sure why Ethan is on this list. Maybe it’s because he lives in a charming apartment in London, England? Along with that, he is sweet and alluring. An all around good guy. I’ll take it.

6) Rhett Butler from Gone With the Wind (Maragaret Mitchell):
Who could forget about Rhett Butler? I know I couldn’t. Rhett is (as he says) not a gentleman and yet he seems to have the qualities of one. Rhett is there for Scarlett even when she desperately desires Ashley Wilkes. What’s wrong with her?? Ashley is a putz compared to Rhett. Unfortunately for Scarlett, Rhett can only put up with so much and leaves her in the end. Nevertheless, he put up with a lot and is worthy to be on this list.

7) Inman from Cold Mountain (Charles Frazier):
Though they only knew each other for a brief time before Inman departed for the war, it is largely the hope of seeing Ada again that drives Inman to desert the army and make the dangerous journey back to Cold Mountain (taken from Wikipedia). How romantic. The movie is fabulous (Jude Law-hello!) and the book, although slow, is fabulous too.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten (Well, Seven) Tuesday: Fictional Crushes

  1. I almost put Harry Potter, but I couldn’t get the image of Daniel Radcliff out of my head. I loved him in the books, and I think Daniel played him perfectly, but I just didn’t find him attractive at all.

  2. I must whole-heartedly agree with you on the Henry and Harry Potter counts! I love, love, love The Time-Traveler’s Wife, and a lot of that has to do with Henry. I bawled and bawled at that final chapter.

Leave a Reply

